Possible birds to be found on Lewes Railway land and links to RSPB website for each bird

These links will send you to the RSPB site which records the birds mating and territorial songs.

  • Sometimes you will hear birds making other calls such as warning calls e.g. for a blackbird or a robin. When a bird spots a potential enemy it may give an alarm call. Those within earshot are alerted and may take evasive action. This article from the Sussex wildlife trust gives two examples of the Robin’s alarm calls: tic tic and tseee.
  • Here is a link to a website for the blackbird song, alarm call and flight call.
  • More information here from the RSPB website: Why do birds sing? 

Blackbird: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/blackbird/

Blue Tit: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/blue-tit/

Cormorant: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/cormorant/

Fieldfare: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/fieldfare/

Goldfinch: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/goldfinch/

Grey herons: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/grey-heron/

Great tit (I teach this to children to mimic by saying “teacher teacher”. I have also heard it compared to a bicycle pump): https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/great-tit/

Grey Wagtail: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/grey-wagtail/

Great spotted woodpecker (hammering on the trees): https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/great-spotted-woodpecker/

Green woodpeckers: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/green-woodpecker/

House Sparrow (You might recognise this as the sound of birds twittering in a hedge): https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/house-sparrow/

Jay: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/jay/

Kestrel: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/kestrel/

Kingfisher: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/kingfisher/

Little Egret: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/little-egret/

Little Grebe: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/little-grebe/

Long tailed tits: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/long-tailed-tit/

Magpie: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/magpie/

Moorhen: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/moorhen/

Nuthatch: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/nuthatch/

Reed Warbler (mainly a summer visitor): https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/reed-warbler/

Reed Bunting: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/reed-bunting/

Robin: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/robin/

Redwing: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/redwing/

Wood Pigeon: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/woodpigeon/

Wren: https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/wren/